Skip to content
February 4, 2010 / KristenMakes

The Great Dyeing Experiment

Over our holiday while visiting our families in FL, I was suddenly taken with a great urge to dye yarn.  This is something I have never been interested in, but mild curiosity gave way to deep longing and within our first week back, I had my first batch of coffee-dyed yarn!  Coffee was a safe start because it was easy, attainable, and plenty of information on coffee-dyeing was at my fingertips online (not to mention I love all shades brown).  I found this tutorial and followed it fairly closely.

Since the tutorial already describes everything I did and much better than I ever could, I will save you the reading and just post the pictures.

IMG_0151

IMG_0153 IMG_0157
IMG_0160

IMG_0166 IMG_0191
IMG_0194 IMG_0198
IMG_0218

Above you can see me using my new yarn ball winder – thanks mom!  And below is the end product!

IMG_0247

These 4 skeins are for sale now on my Etsy Shop! The yarn is 100% Scottish wool, spun in New Lanark.  Here are the specs:

DK weight  *  50 gram balls  *  110 meters, about 120 yards

20-22 stitches to 4 in   *   US 6 or 4 mm needles

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Marilyn Schmid / Feb 4 2010 7:30 pm

    Nice labels, too! Great color…love it! Is TEA dyeing next?

Trackbacks

  1. Natural-Dyed Projects « KristenMakes

What say you?

