Skip to content
January 13, 2010 / KristenMakes

Sewing Patterns & Kits!

Well, finally I have a chance to post about my goings on with the sewing machine!  On Boxing Day, I set to with the sewing machine, determined to be as productive as possible!  I patterned as I went (how I work best with bags) and made a cute little set out of 2 fat quarters!  Here is the Market Satchel & Wallet.

CIMG0943-hi

CIMG0948-hi

CIMG0956-hi CIMG0946-hi

This sewing pattern uses 2 pieces of fabric measuring about 40cm x 60 cm. The Satchel is fully lined and can be turned inside out for a different look.  The sewing pattern itself is available at Etsy, but if you want the entire kit (pattern and fabric pictured) you can find that at K1 Yarns.

A bit later, Kath from the shop and I decided that having a beginner’s sewing pattern would be quite beneficial as well, so I made the Winter-Summer Tote.  This tote uses 2 fat quarters by Show Pony, a designer and screenprinter based out of Glasgow.  She’s got such great fabrics!  I used some spare muslin fabric I had for lining and am really happy with the result.  Its very simple and similar to many bags I’ve made, but its such a great shape bag, I never tire of it!

CIMG0974 CIMG0972
CIMG0958 CIMG0962
CIMG0979 CIMG0966

You can see that with the lining, the bag is reversible and has many fun looks! And as it was for the Market Satchel, you can get the pattern from my Etsy store, and the entire kit (lining too) is available at K1 Yarns.

Soon, the Winter-Summer Tote will be featured in K1 Yarns Knitting Boutique’s newest class, Beginning Sewing, taught by yours truly! I’m so excited about these classes, as I love teaching others to sew and haven’t had the chance to do this since I taught the high school sewing classes. The details are still being worked out but the classes have limited spacing and are in 4 weekly sessions for about 1 and 1/2 hours. The students must provide their own sewing machine, but we provide everything else! If you are in the Edinburgh area and have questions about the class, feel free to contact me, or to visit the classes page at K1 Yarns!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom Orme / Jan 13 2010 10:42 am

    So cute. You’re doing such a great job. And to be able to teach sewing again — great!
    Question: what’s a “fat quarter”?Mom

  2. Mom S / Jan 14 2010 12:55 am

    Really cute bags! Please bring me some of those fat quarters when you come!!!! I’m so glad you will be teaching sewing again! Wish I could do that again!xoxoxo

What say you?

