Skip to content
October 2, 2009 / KristenMakes

…a Busy Bee!

Well, I’ve been a bit silent, but only because I have been just so busy knitting! I have made about 4 small projects in about the past 1.5 weeks! And I love them!

No. 1:    My First Tea Cozy!

As a result of the alarming increase in our tea intake, it had been decided that a tea cozy would make our teatime right and proper. Tea cozies are not only adorable and fun, but they help to keep the tea warm. And it really works well! The pattern is the Mistake Rib Cozy and was a really quick knit.

CIMG0021

CIMG0023

No. 2: Selbu Modern

This was a really fun beret. I used my right hand for the green yarn, and my left hand for the cream, and it went really quickly! I like how slouchy it is!

CIMG0051

CIMG0045

No. 3: Monette Scarf

This pattern came from the Vintage Knits book that I love so much. It is really loose and airy, but can also help keep me really warm. Plus when I tie it loosely, I feel like a hobbit!

CIMG0056

  CIMG0066  CIMG0060

CIMG0058

 CIMG0055

No. 4: Entrelac Scarf

Entrelac always scared me; I always thought it would be really hard and confusing. But this pattern laid it out in tiers and I was able to “get” it after the first two tiers. The yarn worked out wonderfully for the project, I love the different shades of greys and browns and whites.

CIMG0025

CIMG0027

CIMG0036  CIMG0037 

CIMG0038

Well that sums up my week! Stay tuned for more, I’m knitting like crazy here!

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom Orme / Oct 2 2009 5:21 pm

    Everything looks great; too bad it’s too hot in FL for the hats and scarves. But…the tea cozy would work just fine here!

  2. Mom / Oct 2 2009 6:03 pm

    All are amazing, but I especially love #4!!! That is very cool!!!

  3. kristenmakes / Oct 3 2009 4:22 am

    Thanks, MOMS! Actually the scarves and hats are fairly light and could be worn in that chilly 2-week Florida winter period, haha!

  4. Misty Crippen / Oct 3 2009 4:14 pm

    Hey Kristen! Your work is amazing. Wish I had an ounce of your skill, girl! We are loving following your adventures in Scotland on your “other blog”. I agree with Mom Orme that #4 is absolutely gorgeous! Take care!

  5. Donna Deleo / Oct 5 2009 8:48 pm

    I love the scarves and bath mat !

  6. Sara Pedigo / Oct 26 2009 6:55 pm

    You are making the most incredible stuff, I think Scotland is your muse.

  7. Catherine / Oct 27 2009 2:08 pm

    I love your blog…found it via Ravelry and K1 Boutique which I first discovered last week! Your work is an inspiration! I am a slow and very basic knitter and it was lovely to see the work of a real knitter!

  8. Mom / Nov 1 2009 5:32 pm

    I see you got your boots!!! I love that you model your designs! It’s one more way to be able to see you!!! Your designs look great!

What say you?

