Skip to content
July 19, 2009 / KristenMakes

…a sweet sweater for Scotland!

This is the Salina sweater from Vintage Knits.CIMG9210

 I made it with yarn from Knitpicks and it is so soft and perfect! I was jealous of TEO’s sweater for its great fit and knitted hems so I redid the gauge to fit my body, and knitted the hems in (Elizabeth Zimmerman-style) rather than having them in the bulky seed stitch. I also altered the collar to stand up rather than lay flat:

CIMG9223  CIMG9220

  • I placed all stitches of the collar onto a holder except the last 10 (?) on each end.
  • Then I knitted each end back and forth, picking up and knitting a stitch from the holder so that it “ate” up the holder stitches as I progressed.
  • When all holder stitches were “eaten,” I grafted the 10 stitches on each side together. In some of the pictures you can see that seam.

CIMG9213

CIMG9209   CIMG9207

CIMG9203

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sue orme / Jul 19 2009 5:24 pm

    I really like both of the last two sweaters. They’re very different, but really great.
    Mom Orme

  2. manda pants / Jul 19 2009 9:38 pm

    it gets very cold in seattle….sometimes people wear sweaters… i’m just putting it out there…

What say you?

