Skip to content
May 15, 2009 / KristenMakes

…an old, treasured item

I just found my high school prom dress! 

scan0001

T & I have been packing things up to get ready for the move, sorting what’s coming to Scotland, what’s being stored, and what’ll be tossed.  I came across a box of clothes I sewed way back when.  Think back in high school!  In high school I was enrolled in Mrs. Gray’s sewing class at Satellite High School (a class that Trent and I did take together!), during which I made my prom dress from a sewing pattern and was so proud of it.  I think I had more fun making it than I actually had at prom.  No offense to my date (now husband), I just really REALLY like sewing. 

scan0007

It’s a little scary to see how young Trent & I were; and its hard to imagine the pre-beard times.  Please note our proud display of flip flops and chuck taylors as our prom shoes in the first photo.  We were (still are) so straight-laced that that was our form of rebellion.  Yes…  so sad.  Of course, once I came across this dress again, I HAD to try it on!  It still fits, but only barely.  Still proud!

CIMG9057            CIMG9050


CIMG9042

siiiigh, good times.  good sews.

scan0004

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Angeli / May 15 2009 1:19 pm

    things i love about these pictures:

    the dress…it’s actually pretty timeless and still looks really good on you!

    your hair…it reminds me of what a mermaid would look like. and i mean that in a GOOD way.

    trent’s non-beard. it’s really growing on me, no pun intended hehe.

  2. Angeli / May 15 2009 1:21 pm

    p.s. you don’t even want to see paul’s and my prom pictures. i think i had some hairstyle that somewhat resembled cornrows. yikes! maybe i’ll have to dig that little gem out and scan it sometime. 🙂

  3. kristenmakes / May 15 2009 1:53 pm

    you are tooo funny! i think i had a picture of you, me and paul from that wonderful prom night, but i forgot about it when i was looking for pictures to scan in of the dress. can’t wait to see your pictures!

  4. sue orme / May 15 2009 2:54 pm

    Kristen — I remember that night well. You were both so cute. And the dress was beautiful. Who knew you would actually, really become my second daughter?
    Mom O

  5. Janet Gray / May 16 2009 11:48 am

    Kristin,
    Your mom sent me your blog address again because my class was mentioned. I don’t blog, but I have to say from the few I have seen, you have a really interesting blog page. Your artistic self really shows through. So interesting. I’m glad you loved sewing and although you were so independent with sewing and I probably taught only a small part of what you know, it’s exciting to see you still love it. I had to chuckle about the part where you altered the sleeves. Over the years, I found that most “craft” lines have their purest ways. Sometimes practically takes precedent over the “right” way. When I first learned to quilt, I was taught only hand piecing and hand quilting made a REAL quilt. Needless to say, I only made one quilt with the help of others . Then someone said the reality is that if there had been sewing machines when quilt making began, the women would have used machines. Even sewing rules have to be flexible. Such is life. Good luck with your move. What a wonderful adventure. Oh, I think you should take pictures of Trent in the pants he made in my class. I bet they are still won’t fit him.

  6. Mom / May 18 2009 12:27 pm

    I remember that night very well, too. I was so stressed that your dad would notice your flip-flops! You were such a rebel! But a beautiful one!

What say you?

