Skip to content
January 4, 2009 / KristenMakes

…pillows & blanket

I have a whole slew of posts to come to log all the Christmas presents I have been making but I thought that I should at least start off with the comfy cozy things.  The pillows were made for Chuck and Sue, my husband’s parents. 

 CIMG8582

Sue’s favorite color is purple so I utilized the Endpaper Mitts  pattern by Eunny Jang. 

CIMG8587

CIMG8589   CIMG8595

For Chuck’s, I just wanted a size that he could use to nap with comfortably. 

CIMG8574

CIMG8575     CIMG8578

Now I guess I didn’t plan these out enough for them to match or even coordinate but I think they don’t mind.

Next up, my mom’s blanket!  She has been waiting for this for months – she gave me the yarn so that I could make a basketweave blanket for her and it ended up being her Christmas present.  It is really comfy and soft.
 
CIMG8618

CIMG8611

The best part about this blanket (although this may mean nothing to non-knitters) is that I taught myself to knit continental-style, with my left hand. I’ve been meaning to for years but never had a long and uneventful project with which to become accustomed to knitting with the other hand. The blanket came out a litle loose because of it, but the open weave is actually kind of nice.

CIMG8614    CIMG8609

It turns out to be a pretty cozy Christmas, even though there is no need for blankets in Florida, even in winter.

CIMG8585  CIMG8577  CIMG8608 CIMG8520

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Angelili / Jan 7 2009 3:01 pm

    i love these! especially the purple pillow – i have become quite fond of purple recently. the blanket looks so comfortable! and i must admit, i find blankets even in florida’s winters to be indispensable!!!! especially when you’re too broke to crank your heat up. hahaha. let’s chalk that one up to a circulation problem.

  2. Angelili / Jan 7 2009 3:06 pm

    p.s. – did you guys rearrange?? i can’t see enough to be sure, but it looks cool!

  3. sue orme / Jan 7 2009 11:34 pm

    Kristen — we love our pillows.
    Mom o

  4. Mom / Feb 9 2009 12:22 am

    Believe me, that cozy blanket has come in very handy this winter! And the cats like it, too! I love it!

What say you?

