Skip to content
March 7, 2008 / KristenMakes

…an anthropologie-inspired shrug

(siiigh…)  Oh, if I had the disposable income to shroud myself in soft sweaters, swanky cocktail dresses, and beautiful home decor.  Alas, our meager income forces me to be a “maker” rather than a consumer.  I had recently seen the “Greenfinch Shrug” in Anthropologie (which happens to be one of my favorite places to browse without buying), and decided to try my own out. 

 greenfinch-shrug.png

My lovely little version was born out of a pattern called “Half a Cardy” that I found in my cyber meanderings, of course with some tweaking.  I experimented with the 1×1 rib cast-on and bind-off in the kitchener style for a very fetching detail, and added a 1×1 rib for the placket.  Pictured below is the placket done on only 1 side – it does a wonderful job taming that wretched stockinette curl.

cimg7416bp.jpg 

At A.C. Moore, I found some antiquey chain and at Joann’s some kitchy buttons.  Using Teo’s plyers and a little bit of fudging, voila!

cimg7523bp.jpg

cimg7520bp.jpg

cimg7519bp.jpg

I’m just dying to wear it at one of the multifarious social events I have lined up!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Jenny / Mar 7 2008 11:10 pm

    Kristen! That cardigan is magnificent!
    The link didn’t show up correctly on the browser when you sent it on my myspace last time.
    I love the way you took the concept and made it into your own style. You are great at personalizing knit items.
    I still enjoy the houndstooth felted clutch you made for me.
    It’s so stylish!

What say you?

