Skip to content
March 7, 2008 / KristenMakes

…a Harry Potter scarf – 3-ways

Well this post is actually fairly basic for most knitters, but I know that when I set out to make TEO an HP-esque scarf, I had a couple ideas of ways in which to accomplish it.  Here are 3 different ways to do it:

No. 1:  Most Similar to the Movie Scarves

This way is knit in the round, so you are basically making a tube and sewing the ends.  The pattern is specifically from a website that came up in my googling and it helped me loads.  Rather than the traditional Gryffindor maroon and gold, we opted for a less obvious and almost as cool but slightly more wardrobe-adaptible brown and gold.  This way took quite some time, as it was twice as many stitches (being that it was knitted in the round).  It is quite warm and popular in the household.  See it in wear in the “…a-corny hat” post.

cimg7532-copy.jpg

cimg7538-copy.jpg

No. 2: The 1×1 Rib

For my older brother’s birthday HP scarf, I wanted something a little quicker, so I opted for the K1 P1 rib.  Another bonus of this style – it is not as thick and warm as option No. 1, which is good because Rich lives in Florida and will probably have the opportunity to wear it one week out of the year.  The rib is so tight that at first glance or the untrained eye it looks like a miraculously uncurling stockinette stitch.

cimg7195-copy.jpg

cimg7196-copy.jpg

 No. 3: The Quick & Easy

 This scarf was knitted also as a birthday present for my friend Colin.  I was in a self-imposed time-crunch with some other projects that were queued up so I planned for a chunky Wool-Ease Thick’n’Quick by Lion Brand.  I did a garter stitch border to hopefully prevent curling from the body that was stockinette.  Alas, it curls some, but Colin doesn’t seem to mind it.  If you do one of your own and don’t want Any Curling, than I would advise a thicker (4-5 stitch or more) garter border.  I however just don’t like that border as it detracts from the smooth stockinette look.  Oh, and Colin is of the Slytherin house.

cimg7140-copy.jpg

cimg7162-copy.jpg

I included this rather fuzzy picture to show how it has a inclination to curl.

cimg7153-copy.jpg

…and I included this picture for my family:  if you cover up the non-squinting side of my face, I look scarily like my father.  I’m not saying HE’S scary-looking, I’m just saying it’s scary how much I look like him in this photo.

So that’s it for my Harry Potter Scarf lesson.  If you are a beginner-knitter looking at this post for guidance, I hope it has been helpful.  It is what I was looking for when I began my search for the Harry Potter Scarf pattern.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Mar 7 2008 10:22 pm

    All I can say is “no comment”

  2. Mom / Mar 7 2008 10:23 pm

    Well…I can also say “You make me giggle!”

  3. Julie / Jan 1 2009 11:42 pm

    what size needles did you use on the #2 scarf? did you use wool-ease worsted weight? thanks

What say you?

