Skip to content
October 28, 2012 / KristenMakes

Things I like…

What makes me happy these days?  So many lovely little things…

New glasses!

glasses

I got these recently to replace my sad and outdated prescription glasses.  I think they’re pretty fun!

FO’s…

.

This is the Nouveau Shrug by Meghan Fernandes, published in Issue 11 of Knit Now Magazine.  Meghan is not only one of the co-geniuses behind Pom Pom Magazine, she is also a fellow expat and it goes without saying a really talented knitter!  I’ve had the pleasure of interacting with her online a bit and meeting her once briefly, and now I can say I’ve had the pleasure of knitting one of her designs!  This was such a fun and quick knit.  I used some really lovely organic merino by Swan’s Island, which was gifted to me in a swap with Tinks and Frogs (thanks Rue!).

IMG_6231

Above is a blocking jumper that was promised to my husband a year ago.  The poor dear is very patient.  I had only 1 sleeve left to knit and yet let the thing sit in my knitting basket all year!  Finally I decided this weekend to dig up my notes and finish the dern thing.  Trent is very pleased!

Current knitting…
IMG_6225

This is Chevry by Stephen West.  With the colour play and stockinette/garter play, this has been a great project to knit on my work commute!  I’ve had the Tosh Sock (the grey garter) and the Cash 4ply (the cream) in my stash for awhile just waiting for the right project.  I think I’ve chosen well.

A dessert reinterpretation…

cranapplan

The other day I realised I just happend to have everything I needed for the Scottish dessert, cranachan.  With the sudden craving for the dish, I ran to the kitchen to pull everything out, only to realise the raspberries had gone bad.  Now this was late at night with no option to run out for replenishments.  Crestfallen and shoulders slumped, I broke the news to Trent who was clearly touched by how disappointed I was.  We went through some alternatives and decided I could try it out with apples instead.  I cut an apple, brushed it with butter and sprinkled a bit of cinnamon and brown sugar and put them under the broiler.  Once broiled and cooled, I proceeded with cranachan as normal – toasted oats, whipped cream, whiskey and honey – and folded all together with the apples.  And voila, CranAPPLan!  It was delicious!  Very good for Autumn, might I add.  I think this experiment will certainly be repeated.

Putting out the Autumn decorations…

IMG_6218
IMG_6216
I love our Autumn decorations!  Living so far from home, Trent & I have a tendency to overdo it on the holiday decor, to stave off home-sickness and feel a bit cheerier.  And it really does the trick!  (Thanks mom, for the pumpkins and the pretzel M&Ms – which are now devoured!)

Yes, an electric sweater shaver gets me excited too…

IMG_6214
IMG_6208

My Aidez is looking really sad with all its pills, so I bought this shaver to clean it up a bit.  I just hope it does the trick!

And a new mug!

IMG_6230That’s me on the mug!  I got it from work.  Each of us at Eribe have our own lovely illustration by my friend Linda who is a really talented illustrator/knitter/designer/photographer/etc.  I was hired to train with and replace the previous Hand-Knit Coordinator who, upon finishing and moving on, gave us each a mug with our illustration on it!  I LOVE mine, and pretty much use it for every coffee and tea I have (which is many times throughout the day of course).  One can tell Linda knows me well, since she sketched me wearing a knitted hat – my staple winter accessory!

So what has got you happy this weekend!?

 

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mum / Oct 28 2012 9:53 am

    Well, this post makes me happy…glad to see what you are up to! Plus I was happy that Friday we had an unexpected day off due to the high winds from Hurricane Sandy! No school buses are supposed to go over the causeways when there are wind gusts…. Nice long week-end for me!

  2. Holly / Oct 28 2012 11:09 am

    These things you love are great. I used to work with Meghan at ‘Loop’, and she’s the best. Love the glasses!

  3. Sue / Oct 28 2012 1:54 pm

    I guess I’m duplicating your mom’s comments, but getting this blog makes me happy. I always like to keep up with my kids and what they’re doing. I’m also happy Hurricane Sandy chose to stay off shore and only send winds and rain. I know Trent must love his new sweater (er, jumper); a great color for him.

  4. DAD / Oct 28 2012 3:07 pm

    Reading your blog has gotten me happy! Whoever thought that I would be looking forward to, and enjoying, a good read on a knitting blog? Love you……..DAD

  5. meghanaf / Oct 28 2012 7:05 pm

    And now I’m happy! So lovely to see your version of the shrug – it looks really great layered like you have! And that mug is amazing! Lucky you :)

  6. Crafted by Carly / Oct 29 2012 8:05 am

    VERY cute new glasses! And great knitting projects!!!
    Carly
    x

  7. Drop Stitches Not Bombs / Nov 1 2012 7:23 pm

    What a delightful post! Those glasses are AWESOME – you are tempting me to start searching for a new pair! I am excited about a friend travelling a long way to visit me, who is arriving tomorrow – yay!

  8. HouseOFpinheiro (@HouseOFpinheiro) / Nov 6 2012 4:44 am

    Love your mug… And your new glasses

  9. Cassandra / Feb 6 2013 8:18 pm

    Where did you get your electric lint remover and how much was it? Must get one ;)

What say you?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 822 other followers

