Skip to content
May 24, 2012 / KristenMakes

The Spoils of living far away…

Now living far away from our families (they in Florida, we in Scotland) is difficult on my husband and me all year round, with the exception of our yearly 2-week visit home around Christmas.  Now we LOVE Edinburgh, and LOVE the culture and proximity to all things Europe, but homesickness tends to hit still, even after these almost 3 years away.

And then wonderful events occur unexpectedly to help us feel a bit closer to home.  Such as yesterday’s visit from the FedEx man.  I am still in shock over the package that was delivered.  My father and his lovely wife Donna (who have just celebrated their 2-year anniversary, CONGRATS!) have gotten into the habit of spoiling us ROTTEN with lovely packages.  And this most recent one was no exception.  Oh, the goodies!  Oh, the spoils!  Oh the joy!  Feast your eyes on the gloriousness…

Mohmigosh…

Look at all the junk food!  The American junk food!  Now, if the fastidious dentist in my father may have doubted the health of my teeth upon our moving to the UK, he seems to have fully given up on them and embraced the possibility of their decline.  They don’t stand a chance, with all the cookies, Cheez-its, chocolate bars, Pringles, Twizzlers (oh and peanuts and trail mix for good measure), plus a childhood favourite of mine, Fruit Roll-ups!  To top it all off, under all the sweets was a bit of icing on the cake in the form of a birthday pressie!

Happy early birthday!

Are you serious?!?   Happy birthday to me, indeed!  I guess technically I cheated by opening this early (actual birthday is Sunday) but too bad, I’m fully moved in to it, and thoroughly enjoying it!

(I am not dressed nearly fancy enough for the caliber of this bag!)

I suspect I may have Donna to blame for this gift, rather than my father (although he certainly does not balk from the shopping).  I love the shape and sturdy base of the bag.  No longer will I have to dig deeper into my never-ending old purse for the wallet that seems to never appear; now everything is within reach.

A most sincere thanks to Dad & Donna, from a grateful and spoiled daughter (who may also be feeling a little sick from her recent junk food gorge).

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rachael / May 24 2012 7:33 pm

    It’s good to see food going the other way! Being an English girl now living in Michigan a lot of my blogging friends send me over food parcels – particularly of British chocolates and snack foods! I guess we all miss the home comforts of our homeland at times!

  2. Mum / May 24 2012 8:34 pm

    Well done! Revel in the fun!

  3. scruffybadger / May 25 2012 2:20 am

    Happy birthday for the weekend Kristen. Fab “care package”! which is such fun to open at any time, but to dicover that gorgeous bag – what a double treat!!

  4. Janet Gray / May 25 2012 8:18 am

    Happy Birthday. I always loved sending “care” packages to the girls, too. It’s so nice that you open them with such enthusiasm and joy. Give Trent a big hug from me, too. Enjoy your mom when she comes. I know that will be a wonderful treat for you both.

  5. mom o / May 25 2012 2:43 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! Thanks for the anniv. card; nice surprise to having waiting here for us.

  6. Crafted by Carly / May 26 2012 11:41 am

    What a great emergency supply package!!! There are some ‘essentials’ from the UK that we can’t get in Germany. A man comes to our school – ‘the food from home van’ once a month. He carried all sorts of US and UK goodies. The American and British mums (and teachers) go CRAZY wheh the van shows up!!! ;-)
    Enjoy your treats – and make them last…..
    Carly
    x

What say you?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 824 other followers

