Skip to content
May 2, 2012 / KristenMakes

More adventures with Minoru!

Hey there ho there!  Wow, what a ridiculous absence I’ve had from this blog…  Between work and plugging away at other things (to be shared later) I haven’t had much time to work on personal fun projects.  I have missed out on some really great bloggy things in the meantime: OWOP, Pyjama Party, and Me-Made May, but I have LOVED reading what everyone else has been up to!

So now, apart from crafting, I actually have done quite a bit lately.  But I thought I’d let someone else take over to tell you about it, from their point of view.  Enter my guest in this post, Minoru! (Quick reminder, Minoru is the lovely jacket I made back in February, from the Sewaholic Patterns range).

Hi there all!  I’m the Minoru jacket.  I live with my wearer, Kristen, and her husband Trent.  Kristen spends a lot of time with some odd sticks in her hands, and Trent at the computer, typing away on something.

But let’s focus more on me.  You’ve heard my birth story, and you’ve also heard about how I got to go hiking back in March, but since then I’ve seen so much more.  My wearer and Trent took off to the tiny town of Comrie for an overnight stay at the Royal Hotel to celebrate an anniversary.  I think they were celebrating late though, because I’m pretty sure their anniversary happened back in February before I was born… 

In Comrie they took another long walk, saw a lot of fallen trees,
IMG_1796IMG_1830

…and lots of not-fallen trees,

IMG_1855

and even happened upon some wild garlic. They picked some… IMG_1762IMG_1777

…and must have brought it home because later on they ate some wild garlic in their Easter Sunday Feast. 

IMG_1947IMG_1948

A few weeks later, my roommates had some visitors come by for a few weeks.  I think they were Trent’s sister Amanda, and her husband Brad.  Anyway, they celebrated Trent’s 30th birthday with dinner at Ship on the Shore, where my wearer had what they called a Bloody Mary Oyster shot. I think she liked it but I don’t know how that’s possible, it looked pretty gross…
IMG_2054
Next they took me to London, where we all walked around (I kept my wearer really dry and warm when it rained!), watched some of the London Marathon, walked along tower Bridge, saw a jousting match on St George’s Day, and drank Pimm’s in Spitalfields.

IMG_2061IMG_2080IMG_2087IMG_2098

They saved money staying in a hostel, where they took this goofy picture.  I don’t get it.IMG_2083

After London, we all took a trip to the Highlands.  My roomates rented a car so we all drove up.  They stopped at Balmoral Castle for a wee trek around.  Back in the car on the way to Ullapool, they found a mysterious pile of carrots, into which my wearer smothered me most uncouthly.  
IMG_2130   

We drove up so high that we were in snow!  Trent drove very bravely, as the rest of the riders jumped up and down in excitement.  In Ullapool we spotted 2 full rainbows, which apparently is a big deal?  I’m just a jacket though, so I don’t get rainbows.

IMG_2163

IMG_2182   IMG_2198

The next day after leaving Ullapool, they all took me to a place called Corrieshalloch Gorge, apparently the deepest gorge in Britain.  My wearer looked quite silly in her shorts, tights and hiking socks/shoes, but I helped compensate to make her look a bit better.  

IMG_2212   IMG_2272

While on Skye, we visited Portree and also drove up and traipsed about Quiraing, which everyone though was pretty stunning.  I said, ‘eh, I’m just a jacket’.

IMG_2543

The adventurers stayed at a B&B on Skye called Garybuie.  The owners, Christine and Kevin, took the adventurers all around their farm, showing the gardens and the animals.  

The picturesque cottage was surrounded by fields of sheep, and even had their own red phone booth outside (which is helpful, since there is no mobile phone signal!).

Everyone thought the B&B was really pretty and comfortable, and they really enjoyed Christine’s lovely watercolours that hung all about the house.  

We even got onto their blog!  Even me! 

IMG_2461

I think my wearer likes animals.  She would get so excited and squealy whenever she saw sheeps and their lambs (which was pretty much all the time).  Look at that grin.  Very silly.

IMG_2344

Amongst the many animals the gang saw were:    the rare and elusive red squirrel (well-spotted by Trent); goats!  And their kids!  Running!

IMG_2298IMG_2353

Lots of kitties!  Showing off their bellies!

IMG_2398IMG_2442

Chicks & chickens!  Again, look at that goofy grin my wearer has.  I’m embarrassed even to be in that picture…

IMG_2401IMG_2409

Ducks on parade; sheep and the wee-bairn lambs;

IMG_2413IMG_2452

…and of course, Highland cows and calves.  Adorable.

IMG_2588

Well that’s it for my adventures.  I’m glad I get to go along to all these places with my wearer…  I think she likes me!

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Helen / May 2 2012 4:50 pm

    Ah Minoru! If only you’d known that when in Ullapool you’re only an hour’s drive away from the totie Ripples Crafts shed! Looks like you’ve been having some wonderful adventures :D

  2. Sue Orme / May 2 2012 7:04 pm

    So cute!! Where did you come up with the idea for your jacket to blog?
    Mom O

  3. feministfashionbloggers / May 3 2012 7:45 am

    Love this post, sounds like a great holiday. but why the giant mound of carrots?

  4. Sarah / May 3 2012 4:46 pm

    So. Much. Fun!!! Look at the sheepies, kitties, and chickens! So cute! I love how Minoru narrates your adventures – a pile of carrots?!

  5. KristenMakes / May 4 2012 4:05 am

    We never found out :( We were driving past, and once we realised what it was, we HAD to turn back and inspect. But no one was around, so we never got any answers!

  6. KristenMakes / May 4 2012 4:06 am

    Haha! Simple! My jacket just asked to do a guest post!

  7. Kathryn / May 11 2012 4:08 pm

    oh, you just made me really homesick for Scotland! The woods at Comrie look beautiful and Skye is just one of my favourite places in the world. Your jacket looks pretty stylish in every location too!

  8. HouseOFpinheiro (@HouseOFpinheiro) / May 19 2012 4:00 pm

    Awesome jacket Hun x

  9. KristenMakes / May 20 2012 6:33 am

    Aww, thanks Kathryn! Skye is just magical isn’t it?

What say you?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 823 other followers

