Skip to content
August 17, 2011 / KristenMakes

More Bits & Bobs

I love these kinds of posts, because I just get to ramble about the many things going on that are too wee to require a stand-alone post.

So first off I wanted to say WOW!  What a response to the giveaway!  I am so excited!  Thanks everyone for your enthusiasm in entering, I have really enjoyed reading what prize everyone wants, and the fact that many can’t choose just one tells me that I picked my prizes well!  I neglected to tell you though in the giveaway post just WHY I wanted to host a giveaway.  The reason is because I wanted to thank you guys for sticking with me and reading all about my uni work.  Whether you commented or just quietly read along, I really appreciate you, and wish I could give a prize to everyone!  Now there is still time to enter, the giveaway ends at midnight, EST on Friday, 19th August.  But to enter you must leave a comment on the post linked HERE, and tell me which of the three prizes you would like to win (& why, if you care to share, I love to read!).  Again the prizes are a ball of Cornish Organic Wool, a metre of fair-trade organic handloom cotton from Bishopton Trading Co., and a neckwrap/handyband made or organic cotton from Seasalt Cornwall.  Happy choosing!

Next on the list is a reminder about our Knitalong, ‘The Newbie & the Knitter’!  I am so excited to see so many people interested in knitting along!  We even got mentioned on the designer’s blog by Jordana Paige herself!  Sarah (my lovely KAL co-host from Rhinestones & Telephones) made a Flickr group so if you are knitting along or are even curious about the KAL, please join us!KAL button

Now we are currently working on our first post about yarn, so don’t worry if you’re a bit lost as to what to buy, we’ll help you through it.  We plan to have that post up prior to September so as to give you some time to shop.  But if you still fall behind, no worries!  These posts will always be here and linked together so you can really follow this KAL and use its resources at any time.  Next we’ll post about gauging, which is SUPER important when knitting a garment (that is, only if you care about how it fits of course!), and then get started!  I cannot wait!

Ok, now that those updates and reminders are out of the way, I wanted to post more about the selfish things I’ve been up to since uni ended:

MAKING THINGS!!!!

Now that I have some more freetime, I’ve been knitting/sewing like mad and it’s been fabulous.  I’ve made…

1.  (SEWING) Colette PatternsViolet blouse & Ginger skirt.  These are beginner’s patterns which my lovely mum gave me for my birthday at my begging.  I suppose I’m not a beginner, but there is something about Colette Patterns booklet and instructions  and design that I just love; they make sewing a garment a really enjoyable experience.  AND they’re coming out with a book!

IMG_8079IMG_8103The fabric on my Violet blouse refuses to stay ironed, but I love it regardless.  Trent makes fun of me because I have such an obsession with Peter Pan collars, but they’re just so darn cute!

CIMG1632 CIMG1610I didn’t originally intend for the waistband of my Ginger skirt to be a contrast colour, but I ran out of green fabric and am glad for it.  It has a neat sort of colour-block feel to it now, and I don’t think it will be hard to coordinate with the other things in my wardrobe (which was my initial fear).

2. (KNITTING) Simmer Dim shawl by Gudrun Johnston — the yarn from this is Ripples Crafts, hand-dyed in the Highlands (more on how I bought it further down).  It is so nicely plyed, which combined with the light springy green (‘Summer Apples’ is the colour name) it makes me feel like I’m knitting with viney tendrils!

IMG_8148IMG_8107The pattern was really enjoyable to knit, as one can expect from Gudrun’s patterns (you may remember, I’ve also knitted her Aestlight Shawl, Audrey in Unst cardigan, and most recently Laar).  Very simple design, very good knit!

3. (KNITTING/SEWING)  I had an idea that I wanted to see if it was as cute as I envisioned, or at least possible.  I wanted to make a top that was machine-knitted on 1 side, and woven fabric on the other.  I adapted Colette Patterns’ free Sorbetto top to be 1 pattern piece that could serve as front and back, so that the top would be reversible.  Taking the measurements to Chip (my knitting machine), I knitted one side, and then cut the other side from some Liberty cotton from Mandors Fabric shop.  I used the excess cotton to make bias binding for the neckline and armholes.  This was tricky to sew onto the delicate knitted fabric but I managed.  Fusible interfacing helped out on the neckline, but the armholes didn’t need it.  The neckline is still a bit skewed and stretched, but now I know it is at least possible, and perhaps I’ll give it another go later, after refining the pattern/design a bit.

CIMG1651CIMG1661CIMG1659So those are my recent making-exploits, but I have loads more planned: Angostura for me, a plain hand-knitted jumper for Trent, a machine-knitted jumper for Trent (let’s face it, the boy needs jumpers!), trousers for me (sewn, not knitted!), and of course Cadence from our KAL!

In addition to making things, I’ve been catching up a lot with friends!  I’ve been able to meet with friends and knit so many times these past two weeks, what a treat!  One of the times was at the Spinners, Weavers, & Dyers Guilds’ Marketplace this weekend.  I went with friends to see some wooly things and came away with 2 skeins of delicious wool from Helen of Ripples Crafts, and my eyes were positively drooling over all the yarny goodness.  One of these days I will take up spinning, and now I know where to get loads of yummy fibre:

 IMG_8052 IMG_8050

That’s right, there were silks, soybean fibre, and so much more!  For my knitting machine, I now know where to get hemp, bamboo and organic cotton, along with loads of other great fibres.
IMG_8054
The whole marketplace was amazing, and it was the final event to a weeklong summer school of amazing classes I would have loved to take.  The student’s work was on display to see, and everyone was so kind and happy to be there!

Well thus signals the end of playtime and the start of working & job-searching…  I finished updating my portfolio (which you can see here if you are patient enough for it to download!) to reflect my most current work so I am ready to get going.

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway and have a lovely week!!

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Noas' libellule / Aug 17 2011 9:08 am

    Love the Peter pan collar, so cute… and the shawl is beautiful! Clever you!

  2. Sarah / Aug 17 2011 9:33 am

    Gah! Look at all of your gorgeous makes!!! Beautiful! I have Violet and need to make mine ASAP :)

  3. prttynpnk / Aug 17 2011 4:50 pm

    I think you just made my favorite sorbetto….

  4. fredericaknits / Aug 18 2011 9:26 am

    Love the Summer Dim shawl, such a lovely edging. I’ve been wanting to make a Collete pattern for ages. I think a Beignet skirt is in order!

  5. April / Aug 18 2011 12:38 pm

    I enjoy reading your blog, and found your university work very interesting! I like the combination of knit and woven in your shirt, with different textures/patterns on each side. I look forward to following and possibly participating in the knitalong!

  6. Sue / Aug 18 2011 3:33 pm

    I really like both the blouse (I used to like the Peter Pan collars, too, when I was younger) and the shawl (can that be made bigger to go around the shoulders and arms?). Wow, I just read your entire portfolio. Even though I already knew a lot of it, or had seen the products, I am SO IMPRESSED. (Glad to see T even made it into the portfolio!) I would certainly hire you!
    Mom O

  7. aviewintomyworld / Aug 19 2011 5:23 pm

    don’t you just love when you’ve recently finished a big thing so you have an extra relief/enjoyment in just making different things?!
    love your contrast waistband on your ginger skirt :-)
    (& thanks for the reminder about your very generous giveaway)
    louise

  8. Rue / Aug 22 2011 10:32 pm

    I saw your Simmer Dim on ravelry right after I decided to cast on. Gorgeous! And you’re right – I really need to find mine!

    I love the concept of your knitted/woven shirt. And it looks great on you. Was it difficult to match the drape of the two fabrics?

  9. KristenMakes / Aug 23 2011 3:06 am

    Thanks! Actually, the drape wasn’t too hard. Both fabrics are quite light; the knit is from a silk/wool blend lace weight knitted on a looser gauge so it drapes similarly to the cotton – which wasn’t planned, just lucky! The knitted piece was on grain (if you can say that about knits) because it was knitted to the same block as the woven piece. Since I cut the woven piece on the grain, both pieces draped fine. What I had to be careful in was the sewing of the two pieces. I don’t always pin things before sewing but here I had to, plus I had to sew every seam with the cotton on the bottom, otherwise the feed dogs probably would have pulled and stretched the knit rather than move it along smoothly.

  10. amanda / Aug 24 2011 11:43 am

    I love that blouse and love-love the color block skirt! The contrasting waistband is so perfect I can’t imagine it another way. And I love the necklace! It looks so good with that outfit! Let me know if you have any gaps in your ‘jewelry wardrobe’, I’m starting to think about Christmas presents.

  11. KristenMakes / Aug 25 2011 4:26 am

    @Amanda, I’m so glad you like the skirt! I LOVE the necklace, I’m so glad you spotted it! I can’t think of any GAPS in my jewelry wardrobe, I’ll just take more of everything please!!! Or do you make bracelets? Those are fun!

What say you?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 794 other followers

