Skip to content
August 10, 2011 / KristenMakes

Firsts: A Knitalong!

Guess what!  I’m teaming up with fabulous Sarah of Rhinestones and Telephones to host a knitalong!  As you may know from reading my blog or hers, she has just picked up knitting!  And boy has she picked it up and ran with it.  She’s well into her first scarf and triangle shawl!

We’ve been chatting back and forth about knitting, and it’s been such fun we thought we’d team up for her first sweater.  From that was born our knitalong.  Introducing…

As you can imagine, Sarah is the Newbie and I the knitter!  We have chosen a pattern that we will be knitting and posting about and invite ANYONE to participate, be you newbie, knitter or even expert!  We are going to chat about choosing yarns, gauging, sizing, and anything else that comes up with in the knitting.  We plan to start in right away with September.

The pattern is from Knitty and it is free!  So all you need is to buy yarn, but don’t rush on that, as we will be posting about yarn in the knitalong.  Enter, the Cadence Pullover by Jordana Paige!

You can view its Ravelry page here, and see everyone’s lovely FO’s from it.  The pattern is seamless, top-down, aran weight.  It isn’t necessarily beginner but don’t let that scare you off: we will be with you every step of the way, finding tricks to interpret patterns and make things simpler.  Feel free to send me any questions you have (kristenmakes@gmail.com), and we will make it through!

So, set this in your calender for September and we will post more details later!

18 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. shivani / Aug 10 2011 7:05 am

    how exciting! I’m looking forward to this – just the thing to get me to move up from scarfts and cowls and mitts.

  2. shivani / Aug 10 2011 7:05 am

    *scarves* (ahem!)

  3. KristenMakes / Aug 10 2011 7:10 am

    @shivani Yay! I’m glad you’re looking forward to it too! Your blog and your creations are SO lovely!

  4. Rachel / Aug 10 2011 7:19 am

    Sounds like a great idea Kristen! If my 8 current WIPs get moving along, I might be able to join in! :)

  5. Debi / Aug 10 2011 7:22 am

    YIPPPPEEEEE! I am SO in!

  6. Noas' libellule / Aug 10 2011 8:21 am

    Sounds great. I have not yet managed to knit one jumper… I know!! I get bored.. So A KAL would be perfect!

  7. fredericaknits / Aug 10 2011 9:07 am

    Ooh chunky. I like it!

  8. Sarah / Aug 10 2011 11:38 am

    Yippee!! Can’t wait to get cracking!

  9. frayedattheedge / Aug 10 2011 1:30 pm

    It looks lovely – I could be tempted – even if I would have to wear something cotton underfneath, as wool makes me itch!!

  10. aviewintomyworld / Aug 10 2011 3:46 pm

    what a great idea, the jumper’s not my style but i’ll definitely be reading along to pick up tips along the way :-)

  11. KristenMakes / Aug 12 2011 8:51 am

    @frayedattheedge: Sarah who is co-hosting the KAL with me has a wool allergy so she found some Patons Bamboo I believe for the pattern! Have you tried a jumper from a non-wool? It wouldn’t be as warm here in Scotland but would be fun and nice still!

  12. LK / Sep 3 2011 10:49 pm

    This is my first stop over to your blog and I am sold. I want to knit along with you. I have been knitting for years, but have never knitted a sweater/jumper for myself. Other than hats, my knitting goes to everyone else.

  13. KristenMakes / Sep 4 2011 8:31 am

    @LK, I am so glad you stopped by and plan to join in! YAY! I really hope we can be of help to you in your first jumper, it is high-time you made something for yourself!

Trackbacks

  1. Firsts: A Giveaway! « KristenMakes
  2. Knit-along features free pattern Cadence from Jordana Paige | Jordana Paige Blog
  3. More Bits & Bobs « KristenMakes
  4. To Swatch or Not to Swatch « KristenMakes
  5. Guestpost Alert! « KristenMakes

What say you?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 794 other followers

