Skip to content
May 5, 2010 / KristenMakes

My biggest feat thus far…

Well, I’ve done it. I have finally created a pattern that is in my mind, a milestone. Its an actual, wearable garment. I’ve designed, patterned, and knitted it, and I am so pleased with it. I’ve always considered a project like this to be so unattainable and beyond my capabilities, but I guess I proved not only that I was wrong in thinking that, but that it was actually quite doable! I’m not saying it was easy, but with the determination I had (and a little procrastination and frustration) it happened. I am now so proud to introduce…

Silverlode…

IMG_0570

This pattern is for a raglan blouse that is seamlessly knitted from the top down. With the help of Knitting from the Top by Barbara Walker, and inspiration from the gorgeous yarn (Scrumptious 4-ply by Fyberspates) it features an inverted pleat made of reverse stockinette that runs down the center front. I put the pattern up on Ravelry awhile ago and I’ve been very please with the reception! One Raveler has already completed her Silverlode and I was so happy to see someone else had made my design!

IMG_0554 IMG_0861
IMG_0572_2

I am very glad to be over this first hurdle and plan to do many more designs! If you are interested, you can buy it by clicking the image below.  I am always happy to answer questions if you have any!  This light blouse fits loosely with some positive ease at the waist.  The pattern comes with a chart to help you keep track of your stitch and row count for the torso and pleat.

Sizing:   S: 30 – 34”   –  M: 34 – 38” bust   –   L: 38 – 42” bust

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. jane / May 5 2010 9:31 am

    I absolutely love it! Really wearable – just the right balance of interesting detail and simple, classic styling. The yarn you used looks absolutely perfect too… so pretty! I’m going to buy your pattern right away :)

  2. Noas' libellule / May 5 2010 9:33 am

    Congratulations! It is beautiful, but so simple. Looking forward to your next creation.

  3. Andi / May 5 2010 4:54 pm

    What a lovely pattern! The inverse pleat looks great.

  4. Marilyn S / May 5 2010 5:20 pm

    Amazing! Looks fabulous!

  5. amanda / May 5 2010 9:10 pm

    amazing!! you boggle my mind.

  6. Michie Mooney / May 11 2010 6:33 pm

    One of the cutest things that I have seen in a VERY long time!

  7. Kathleen / Jul 14 2011 2:37 pm

    Saw this made up, its beautiful. The garment looks just like the picture. All from a lady who has been knitting for less than one year!!
    Great job!
    how can i increase the bust line?? i am a bit bigger :-)

  8. KristenMakes / Jul 18 2011 9:30 am

    I’m so glad you like it Kathleen, thank you! How impressive that your friend is on to garments after only a year of knitting experience!

    I’ll take a look at the pattern soon as I get a free moment and give you some notes on how to increase the bust! Cheers!

Trackbacks

  1. What I’d be knitting if I wasn’t knitting « Knitting Kninja
  2. Linlithgow + SSS Days 21-27 « KristenMakes

What say you?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 796 other followers

